Apollo II (20.02.15)

Agonised, I call out desperately to the Sun god.
My anguish falls unnoticed
As Icarus,
And the effect is the same.
I grieve.
Am I a fool to let this consume me?
Surely it would be foolish to think that the day would never die.
A part of me holds hope that the fiery bright
Will halt in its path
And darkness will never come.
Would darkness be the end?
Am I really so naïve as to believe that
The darkness is always eternal?
Surely darkness can be temporary.
But I remember that darkness is caused
By an absence of light.
Absence.
The imminent setting of the Sun settles on me again,
Weighing like Sisyphus’ boulder,
And I can’t breathe.
I try to shout.
No sound escapes my lips,
And Apollo, blind to my distress
Sails his golden chariot onwards to the dusk,
Knowing full well that it was tied to my heart,
And his departing has torn open my chest.

Leave a comment